top of page
  • Writer's pictureBryanna Tanase

Getting Back in the Saddle, COVID-19 Style

I'm finally back riding after four months off due to COVID-19! My first lesson was this past Saturday, June 18th and it feels amazing to be back at my second home doing what I love with the people and horses I love/


After going through temperature checks, washing hands, and filling out paperwork to comply with my barn's new safety precautions, I headed into the arena donning my mask to mount up. A wide smile sprawled across my covered face as I saw Shane glance at me as he headed toward the mounting ramp. I was preparing myself to have a rather rough ride because my body hadn't experienced being in the saddle for so long.


Surprisingly, my legs weren't as tight as I thought they would be as my instructor took my legs out of the left and lowered them down to slide my feet in the stirrups. I gave Shane lots of pats and settled comfortably into the saddle before leaving the ramp. Riding with a mask on was a new experience, but it didn't take long to get used to. The hot and muggy Florida weather was making everyone a bit sluggish, Shane included. Since it was my first ride back, we worked on walk-halt transitions and getting him used to my cues again. He did so well and I'm super proud of him for doing his best to listen even though he wanted to be lazy. We even got a few square halts in! My body was a bit out of shape and I was definitely struggling some, but I gave it my all, and for better or worse my position in the saddle is still good and I haven't lost much strength. To end the lesson, Shane and I went on a short trail ride around property to enjoy the breeze under the shade of the trees. He loved being outside and of course had to try to snag a few bites of grass which put me out of balance. I loved hearing the sound of his hooves against the gravel as we moved along, it has always been calming for me. I wasn't allowed to take Shane back to the barn after I dismounted as part of the precautions, so I gave him love and attention at the bottom of the ramp before the next rider came in. I'm so happy to be back with my buddy!

I really need to get my core strength back as I have started to lean back in the saddle and fatiguing quickly again, which is a bit frustrating because I had just gotten past these issues before the pandemic hit. I am determined to get back in shape and am looking forward to my lesson on Friday. I have a lot of ideas to help me reach my para-dressage goals and I am excited to figure out how I can turn them into action. I will make my dreams happen, no matter what it takes!


Until next time,

Bry

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page