top of page
  • Writer's pictureBryanna Tanase

How to Teach Your Horse to Hug

Tricks are a great way to spend time with your horse and grow your bond! I am going to share with you how to get your horse to hug you on command. It is a very simple trick and you will only need your horse’s favorite treat to teach it. It is best if this is taught in a small space, such as a stall


1. Stand on either side of your horse with your back to their shoulder. This is good for teaching them at first, and then once they have mastered it you can turn around to face them


2. Hold the treat in your hand and let them sniff it while giving the command “hug”


3. Move your hand with the treat slowly back towards your horse’s barrel so that he has to reach around you to get it


4. When they reach the treat, reward them with it and praise them


5. Repeat until your horse can do this with just the verbal command hug

And that all there is to it! I hope this was helpful and that you and your horse have fun practicing! If you try it, let me know how it works out!




P.S Lookout for an update post about riding soon! I will also be making a post about an awesome new friend I made and how she has helped me on my journey so far!


Until next time,

Bry

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page