top of page
  • Writer's pictureBryanna Tanase

The Wonderful World of Wellington

On Jan 9th, 2020, one of my long term riding goals came true and I received my paradressage classification at the Adequan Global Dressage Festival in Wellington, FL!.


For those who don't know, Wellington is lovingly called "the winter horse capital of the world" because many top trainers and riders, as well as equestrians and horse enthusiasts from all over travel there to escape the cold weather in other parts of the country. It was my first time, going to a horse show, and on the way there I just couldn't believe I was going to one of the top, if not the top, equestrian centers in the country. My mom graciously drove me four hours to get to the West Palm Beach Equestrian Center where the festival was held. When we drove up the long driveway to the center, my mouth was agape. The whole driveway was lined with flags from nations across the globe, and it was pristine as it can be.



The grounds themselves were just as beautiful as the driveway. Two sizeable barns, busy warm up arenas, competition arenas bigger than any that I had even seen charmily decorated with flower pots, and trailers housing the show office and various other essential areas. Before heading to the classification tent I decided to browse the wares at the shops because I wanted something to remember the day. I decided on a nice 1/4 zip riding shirt and casual hat from a shop called ShowChic. All the shops sold high end items and I even saw one selling tail coats! I can't wait till I can wear one of those as I think they look so graceful and elegant


After shopping was done, it was off to the classification tent. I met the classifier and her assistants, who were all so nice and wanted to make sure I was comfortable, and once we were all inside the tent they asked me some general questions about my health and disability. Then we got into the meat of the classification, where I was asked to perform a bunch of coordination and dexterity testing movements while sitting unsupported in a chair and positioning the hand that wasn't being evaluated as if it was holding the reins. I found it surprisingly difficult to coordinate my body and keep my balance forward at the same time. After I completed each exercise, both my hands and or/legs were given a score for them. Then, the individual scores for each exercise were taken together to compute the score that would designate my classification result/ paradressage grade.


While my mom and I waited for my score, we explored the show ground. To be honest, I was quite overwhelmed by how busy the atmosphere was. People and horses constantly buzzed about to their destinations, and there was many a time where I froze while my mind contemplated what to do next. My mom noticed that there was a ramp near the classification tent. I had no idea where it lead, so I followed her, and when we reached the top I smiled the biggest smile, There it was, the competition arena in all it's glory, and we had a perfect view! I got to see two tests then: one by Michael Klimke of Germany and another by a Japanese rider whose name I don't know. Check out these pictures and videos!







The whole time we watched these tests, I couldn't believe I was at this event watching these riders with my own eyes after years of seeing them on a screen. I'll never forget this experience. The last thing we did before we left was check out the warm up arenas one more time, and we got to see some of the riders make their way up the bridle path to compete. My experience in Wellington was surreal, it is an equestrian's paradise, when I was younger I never thought that I would ever get to be there! I hope that hearing about my experience inspires you to take the next step towards your goals. Just keep going, no matter what.


Much love,

Bry


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page